I had dreamed of visiting many different countries in Africa (mainly in the East and West) for about 15 years, but actually put my plan into action about 6 years ago.
The first thing to consider was how long I’d be there for and how much money was needed. So about 6 years ago I opened an RSP account and called it my ‘African Fund’ and money automatically came off my pay cheque and into this account every single pay for 5 years in a row!
After about 18 years working in the federal government on computers I decided I needed to do something more physical and outdoors if possible, so I started to volunteer at a local farm. This is where/when I realized my passion for working with large animals ) I have always been a huge animal lover, but never knew how much working with them filled me with compassion, love and spirit!!
Hummm…. Light bulb went off in my head, perhaps I should change careers, so about 2 years before I was to leave for Africa I went back to college at night (while continuing to work full time) and got my Veterinarian Assistant certificate. This was my third degree from college, so was hoping that I got it right this time! LOL…
Hummmm…. perhaps I should try and find work with large animals (elephants and giraffes being my favorite) when I’m in Africa
This sure changed my original plan to visit Africa for a month or two and go on a safari, etc. The plan changed to enable me to stay in Africa for 6-8 months, so I had to save more money, get more volunteer hours in working with large animals, prepare to leave my government job of then 21 years, hand over my leased car, get rid of most all material things I owned and the house I was renting! What a job that was…. But oh so worth it 
January 7th, 2008 I departed Ottawa, ON, Canada. Mixed emotions at the train station leaving my sister, brother & his wife behind
But also looking forward to my long overdue adventure 
The itinerary was brutal… bus ride from Ottawa to Montreal (2.5 hours), wait in Montreal for 2 hours board the first plane to Amsterdam (7 hours), wait in Amsterdam for 6 hours, board the second plane for Accra, Ghana (8 hours). So I left Ottawa at 1pm on a Tuesday, and arrived in Accra at 10pm on Wednesday.
Upon entering the long immigration line I noticed the heat immediately… yippie, I’m “home”
Although going from –30 to +30 sure was hard on the body!
I had obtained a multi-entry visa in Ottawa (charge was $150 and valid for up to 1 year) – I could go in and out of other countries, or so I thought! The main plan was to spend 3-4 months in Ghana then head to Kenya and spend another 3-4 months, where I’d look for work with large animals. The immigration officer saw things differently and only stamped my passport for 2 months! I was told I had to go to Ghana immigration and apply for an extension.
Exiting the airport was a very thrilling moment for me!!! There must have been about 300 people (98% of them Ghanian) waiting behind the line to pick up people… there was no way I would find my friend Seth!
Pause – let me tell you about Seth…. He is one of the most friendly, kind, intelligent men I’ve ever met in my life! He was in Ottawa on training (he works for the Canadian High Commission in Accra) about 9 years ago and I was one of the instructors providing training on one of our information systems, to him along with about 28 other people from around the world. This is where we first met – I approached him at break time and asked if he’d tell me all about Ghana J Seth has a good life in Ghana, lives a very comfortable lifestyle, has an amazing wife and lovely 16 year old daughter. Seth and I kept in close contact over the 8 years of our friendship and he was always extending an open invitation for me to come visit Ghana… hence my main reason for going there to visit.
Back at the Accra airport – after walking outside for only about 3 minutes, with my cart filled with 2 very large suitcases, someone yelled my name and sure enough it was Seth running towards me
We hadn’t seen each other in 8 years, but he was still as handsome as ever. We got some porters to help us with my bags and off we went in Seth’s beautiful SUV.
Since the time was then about 10:30 Seth simply saw that I got checked into my hotel (guest house as they are mostly known there) and then left me to settle in for the night. The lady at the reception was named Angela and she was most accommodating! Little did I know then that she would become my very best African lady friend
The room was basic and clean…. I didn’t bother to unpack a thing, simply took a shower and fell asleep almost instantly.
My first day in Accra…. Soon come
The first thing to consider was how long I’d be there for and how much money was needed. So about 6 years ago I opened an RSP account and called it my ‘African Fund’ and money automatically came off my pay cheque and into this account every single pay for 5 years in a row!
After about 18 years working in the federal government on computers I decided I needed to do something more physical and outdoors if possible, so I started to volunteer at a local farm. This is where/when I realized my passion for working with large animals ) I have always been a huge animal lover, but never knew how much working with them filled me with compassion, love and spirit!!
Hummm…. Light bulb went off in my head, perhaps I should change careers, so about 2 years before I was to leave for Africa I went back to college at night (while continuing to work full time) and got my Veterinarian Assistant certificate. This was my third degree from college, so was hoping that I got it right this time! LOL…
Hummmm…. perhaps I should try and find work with large animals (elephants and giraffes being my favorite) when I’m in Africa
This sure changed my original plan to visit Africa for a month or two and go on a safari, etc. The plan changed to enable me to stay in Africa for 6-8 months, so I had to save more money, get more volunteer hours in working with large animals, prepare to leave my government job of then 21 years, hand over my leased car, get rid of most all material things I owned and the house I was renting! What a job that was…. But oh so worth it 
January 7th, 2008 I departed Ottawa, ON, Canada. Mixed emotions at the train station leaving my sister, brother & his wife behind
But also looking forward to my long overdue adventure 
The itinerary was brutal… bus ride from Ottawa to Montreal (2.5 hours), wait in Montreal for 2 hours board the first plane to Amsterdam (7 hours), wait in Amsterdam for 6 hours, board the second plane for Accra, Ghana (8 hours). So I left Ottawa at 1pm on a Tuesday, and arrived in Accra at 10pm on Wednesday.
Upon entering the long immigration line I noticed the heat immediately… yippie, I’m “home”
Although going from –30 to +30 sure was hard on the body!I had obtained a multi-entry visa in Ottawa (charge was $150 and valid for up to 1 year) – I could go in and out of other countries, or so I thought! The main plan was to spend 3-4 months in Ghana then head to Kenya and spend another 3-4 months, where I’d look for work with large animals. The immigration officer saw things differently and only stamped my passport for 2 months! I was told I had to go to Ghana immigration and apply for an extension.
Exiting the airport was a very thrilling moment for me!!! There must have been about 300 people (98% of them Ghanian) waiting behind the line to pick up people… there was no way I would find my friend Seth!
Pause – let me tell you about Seth…. He is one of the most friendly, kind, intelligent men I’ve ever met in my life! He was in Ottawa on training (he works for the Canadian High Commission in Accra) about 9 years ago and I was one of the instructors providing training on one of our information systems, to him along with about 28 other people from around the world. This is where we first met – I approached him at break time and asked if he’d tell me all about Ghana J Seth has a good life in Ghana, lives a very comfortable lifestyle, has an amazing wife and lovely 16 year old daughter. Seth and I kept in close contact over the 8 years of our friendship and he was always extending an open invitation for me to come visit Ghana… hence my main reason for going there to visit.
Back at the Accra airport – after walking outside for only about 3 minutes, with my cart filled with 2 very large suitcases, someone yelled my name and sure enough it was Seth running towards me
We hadn’t seen each other in 8 years, but he was still as handsome as ever. We got some porters to help us with my bags and off we went in Seth’s beautiful SUV. Since the time was then about 10:30 Seth simply saw that I got checked into my hotel (guest house as they are mostly known there) and then left me to settle in for the night. The lady at the reception was named Angela and she was most accommodating! Little did I know then that she would become my very best African lady friend
The room was basic and clean…. I didn’t bother to unpack a thing, simply took a shower and fell asleep almost instantly.My first day in Accra…. Soon come
this is gonna be good!

here goes yet another person living my dream. smaddy cudden put mi inna dem suitcase.
wid Ghana ok suh mi was a likkle bit inlove before him but seriously I hope to make this trip very very very soon

<span style="font-weight: bold">I can't wait to read more!</span>